Coconut Cake, Act Two

Last post I made a coconut cake and a mess.

Coconut cake layer

This post I made the coconut frosting and I am cleaning up the mess.

I have a new KitchenAid on its way. (Thank goodness for warranties and amazing customer service!)

I stressed quite a bit after the machinery break down and didn’t clean my dishes, but they are clean and put away now.

I made the frosting with a hand held mixer and got a nice arm workout in the meantime.

Mess officially cleaned.

7 minute frosting

Sometimes it feels important to take a time out. Stress becomes overwhelming and there is no need to continue trudging through the mess. It becomes counterproductive.

So this post is about taking a time-out for stress reduction. Sometimes it isn’t appropriate but in this case for me it was completely appropriate.

So how do you know when you should take a time-out?

I notice that I become flooded. My brain gets a little fuzzy and I have difficulty finishing anything effectively (Read: way too many mistakes are made in a short amount of time).

I have to have the awareness to stop what I am doing no matter how much I want to finish it. It is not going to get done well and that just stresses me out even more.

imagesCA4K4M22

I really wanted to post something yesterday in honor of National Depression Screening Day, but I was still on my time out because the thought of tackling the frosting while the memory of my KitchenAid breakdown was still fresh stressed me out.

I wouldn’t have done it well and I wanted to do it well. I was assessing my mental health surrounding this issue and decided this was the best route.

Would you like to assess your mental health in honor of National Depression Screening Day? Wonderful. Click here!

second layer

 

7 Minute Coconut Frosting

Recipe by Alton Brown, adapted

3 large egg whites

12 ounces sugar, approximately 1 3/4 cups

1/3 cup coconut water

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon coconut extract

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

8 to 10 ounces shredded coconut

To make the frosting:

Bring 1 quart of water to a boil in a 4-quart saucepan over high heat. Decrease the heat to medium to maintain a steady simmer. In the meantime, place the egg whites, sugar, coconut water, cream of tartar and salt into a medium size-mixing bowl. Place the bowl over the simmering water and immediately begin beating with an electric hand mixer set to low speed. Beat for 1 minute and then increase the speed to high and continue to beat for 5 minutes. Remove from the heat and beat in the coconut and vanilla extracts for 1 minute. Allow the frosting to sit for 5 minutes before using.

Place approximately 3/4 cup of the frosting on the first layer of cake, sprinkle with 1/2 cup coconut and top with the next layer. Repeat until you reach the top layer. Frost the top and sides of the cake and sprinkle with the remaining coconut. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

