Banana Nut Bread

What do you do when you get stressed out?

There are a few things that I do to help reduce my stress. The first is baking (and quite possibly gorging myself on my baked goods).

Bananas

Luckily the other things I do to reduce my stress are running and doing various working out type things (i.e. yoga, hiking, dancing, etc.). I would like to think it helps balance out all the stress eating I may do.

The third thing I do is clean and organize my life. Quite excessively.

52449842697ab00ee80009d2._w.540_s.fit_

In fact, I took this “Kitchn Cure Challenge” so that I can clean and organize. It gives some ideas of how to clean and where to clean. Banana bread in pan

I would like to think all these things go together perfectly. I bake and eat, run off the excess calories, and then clean up the mess I have made while baking.

Some of my favorite things to bake when stressed include my chocolate chip cookies and the following banana nut bread. These are the things I can bake with my eyes closed. They are also some of my favorite comfort foods.

Banana Batter

Which came first?

Do I like baking them because they are my comfort foods or are they my comfort foods because I like baking them?

We may never know.

The ingredients of these recipes are some of my pantry staples so that makes it very easy for me.

So why am I talking about stress and what I do to help it?

imagesCA4K4M22

It is Depression Awareness Month. Stress in itself carries a mental health risk. Unfortunately, stress can be an everyday occurrence, but luckily having things in place that you like to do and relieve stress can be a helpful deterrent of everyday stress.

While stress does not necessarily lead to depression, not having some self-care in place can lead to some rocky times.

Banana Nut Bread

2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup chopped pecans, toasted

1/2 cup butter, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 eggs

3 very ripe bananas, mashed (1 1/2 cups)

To make the bread:

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Butter and flour a loaf pan.

Combine the flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda, and sugar. Combine the bananas, eggs, butter, and vanilla. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix just until combined. Add pecans and fold into batter.

Pour batter in prepared pan. Bake for 50 – 60 minutes, or until done. Let cool on wire rack.

2 thoughts on “Banana Nut Bread

Leave a Reply

