Not My Grandmother’s Poppy Seed Bread

I have been craving some of my grandmother’s poppy seed bread.

Poppy Seed Bread

She always starts making it around Christmas time. It is one of my favorite things she makes – which is saying a lot because she makes so many sweet delicious treats around Christmas.

Why am I talking about Christmas?

Because there are Christmas decorations in stores and I am already planning my Christmas wrapping ideas (and most of all I kind of miss my grandmother).

So I called her and I asked her for her recipe and got a shock.

It was made with a Duncan Hines cake mix and packaged pudding!

Now I am not one to talk because this poppy seed bread she makes is absolutely amazing, but as I was staring at the boxed cake mix in the grocery store I just couldn’t buy it. I couldn’t buy the pudding mix either.

So how am I going to have my grandmother’s poppy seed bread?!

Well I am not.

But I am going to try my hardest to make something that tastes great. Adding some toasted chopped pecans from my grandmother’s yard and poppy seeds is a great start.

Poppy Seed Batter

Before I get to Christmas and all the baked goods that come with it, we have to finish up September and all that came with it.

I have a few more things for you in relation to suicide awareness. These are for those who have lost someone due to suicide.

There are many resources for parents, friends, and remembering those who died.

logo1a

If you are having difficulties with suicidal thoughts, need some support, and have not been able to reach out to anyone, Suicide Anonymous may be a good place for you to start getting the much needed help and support that you have been looking for.

After researching some resources for you, I decided to research quick breads.

I think I may have found something that can help me out with making something similar to my grandmother’s poppy seed bread.

The batter is sweet and tangy from the cream cheese.

Cut poppy bread

It bakes up slightly sweet so that you can slather on as much cream cheese spread as you so desire.

Finished Bread with spreadNot going to lie this was only the first spread. There may have been another small  huge amount of spread that went on after this picture.

While I think I made a bread that was as close as I could get to my grandmother’s recipe, I am still looking forward to eating some of hers that was made with cake mix and pudding. *gasp*

Cream Cheese Poppy Seed Bread

2 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 Tablespoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

4 ounces cream cheese

1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled

3/4 cup milk

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

4 teaspoons poppy seeds

2/3 cup toasted pecans, finely chopped

To make the bread: Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Whisk the ingredients until thoroughly combined. Beat the cream cheese until softened. Add the butter, milk, eggs, and vanilla. Add the flour mixture and stir just until combined. Add the poppy seeds and pecans. Fold into batter with spatula.

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Butter and flour loaf pan. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 50-55 minutes.

Cream Cheese Spread

4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

1/2 cup butter, room temperature

3 cups powdered sugar, sifted for lumps

To make the spread:  Beat the cream cheese and butter until smooth. Slowly pour powdered sugar into the bowl. Beat mixture until combined. Refrigerate when not in use.

 

Leave a Reply

