The Mistake of the Vanilla Bean Ginger Pound Cake

1009742_10151508323638927_1084462648_n

We are coming to the end of National Suicide Prevention Week and the beginning of fall baking – get ready for pumpkin, apple, and caramel flavored items to punch you in the face.

This past week had lots of great events put on by the Tennessee Suicide Prevention Network. Quilts were made, awareness walks were completed, and those that have lost their lives to suicide were remembered by all in attendance.

There were countless social media posts covering a myriad of topics about suicide. I shared a few on this blog’s Facebook page that I found particularly interesting.

This past week was incredibly inspiring. The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Facebook page had a few posts on myths about suicide. While sifting through all the posts on that Facebook seemed a little tedious I did find a list of myths on this page. I suggest if you have any assumptions about suicide pop over to that page and find out if they are a myth or truth.

Now before I get back to the fall baking, I wanted to put it out there that I have something pretty huge in the works so keep coming back to find out the details!!

Since I woke up this morning to perfect fall weather, I was inspired to bake something fall flavored. So I got myself into the car and went on over to the local Williams-Sonoma as they have been harassing me with fall inspired emails I thought it was the best place to start.

This is only the first day of perfect fall weather that I have experienced this year and I wanted to slide into fall instead of diving head first into pumpkin land. So I chose a ginger syrup and frantically tried to think of something to make.

I landed on a pound cake. Vanilla beans and ginger seemed like an appropriate summer to fall flavor combination that I could handle. Vanilla Bean and Ginger Syrup

Well I am a little new to this recipe creating thing and not every recipe can come out marvelous, right? Right.

Good, because this isn’t my best one to date.

My problems probably had to do with over mixing – it turned out a little chewy and thin.

IMG_1989

Another problem I think is that I should use a ginger extract instead of syrup to get more of a gingery flavor that I desire – this one had just a whisper of ginger and I wanted something a little more pronounced.

I am posting the recipe below to ask for help from you.

A nice segue back into suicide prevention.

If you are having thoughts that concern you – these can include hopelessness, not wanting to be alive anymore, or absolutely anything that may scare or concern you, then ask for help.

It’s difficult asking for help, especially with something that can make you even more vulnerable. Talk to a trusted friend, call a crisis line, or even make an appointment with a mental health professional. Just talk to someone.

Here’s the recipe. Look it over and if you have any suggestions please let me know! I am going to re-do this and let you know how it comes out at a later date.

Vanilla Bean Ginger Pound Cake

Serves 8

1 cup butter, room temperature

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup granulated sugar

4 eggs

Vanilla bean, split and scraped

4 teaspoon ginger syrup ( I used Morris Kitchen brand)

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups flour, spooned and leveled

to bake the cake:

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Butter and flour a 6 cup loaf pan.

Put butter and sugars into electric stand mixer and mix on medium-high until light and fluffy. Add one egg at a time to the butter mixture and mix until incorporated – at this point the batter looks curdled, do NOT worry once the flour is added it will become smooth and velvety. Add vanilla bean that has been split and scraped. Add ginger syrup and salt. Mix on medium until vanilla is evenly dispersed. Add the flour slowly and mix on low until incorporated. Turn the mixer up to medium until the batter is smooth and fluffy; do not over mix.

Pour batter into loaf pan. Bake for one hour, or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean – if the cake is browning too quickly put an aluminum foil tent over the top. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

