Blog for Mental Health 2013

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”

As a part of this pledge the rules indicate a few things.

First, that I make the pledge above.

Second, that I link back to the person that who pledged me. I took the open pledge given by Canvas of the Minds through this post.

Third, that I must give a short biography of my mental health and what this pledge means to me. This is a little more difficult than I first imagined it would be, after all I just started this blog and opening up to this kind of vulnerability right off the bat is not something I wanted to do. I wanted to gradually let people into my world but let’s go ahead and briefly open the flood gates just to see what comes.

I first remember having panic attacks in the fifth grade so I have been plagued with anxiety for quite a number of years. My anxiety manifested itself in a number of ways including self harm, panic attacks, serious issues with food, suicidal ideation, drug and alcohol abuse, and depression. The climax of my anxiety was when I was admitted into an inpatient facility and began medical treatment of my anxiety and depression (as well as the whole host of other symptoms). After release, I continued to see a therapist and psychiatrist for about 6 and 3 years, respectively. Since this time I have had a better grasp on my anxiety and the other symptoms that came along with it; however, I will admit that I have times where I regress back into old patterns but I have a better awareness now and can detect when I am falling. Now I have devoted my career path to helping others, raising awareness of mental health issues, and helping to reduce the stigma of what it means to have a mental illness. Helping others get resources that I didn’t even know existed and couldn’t have dreamed of accessing is what I strive to do with this blog.

Now that wasn’t too horribly painful on my end. I guess I couldn’t hope to get rid of stigma if I was still clinging on to stigmatizing myself and the struggles I have endured. I plan to address a more in-depth look at what I have dealt with and also some things that I don’t have any first hand experience in with the future posts on this blog. I hope to have some guest writers as well that have first hand experience where I don’t.

Fourth, I am supposed to link to other mental health bloggers and ask them to take the pledge as well. However, this being only my second post I am not too familiar with other mental health bloggers at this time. As my familiarity grows, I plan on asking others as I come by them to take this pledge, if they have not already done so.

3 thoughts on “Blog for Mental Health 2013

  1. I’m so sorry it’s taken a while for me to get to this. I love the original approach you’re using with this blog, and the fact that you want to help others dealing with the same things you have (and still do) is wonderful. Giving and receiving support is often the best therapy. In any case, despite my delay in commenting I have had you on the A Canvas Of The Minds: Blog For Mental Health 2013 Official Blogroll for some time already, today I’m finally getting to sharing out your post through our other outlets. Thanks so much for taking the pledge and helping to raise awareness, and all the very best to you!

  2. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2014 | Diagnosably Delicious

  3. Pingback: I’m Baaacckk and Blogging for Mental Health 2015 | Diagnosably Delicious

Leave a Reply

